Ecosections, also known as ecological sections, are geographic subdivisions of a region based on its climate, landforms, and vegetation. In California, the state is divided into several ecosections, each characterized by unique ecological features. These divisions help in understanding and managing the diverse ecosystems within the state. Remember that the specific ecosection classification system may vary depending on the source. One commonly used system is the “California Ecological Units” classification. Here are some examples of ecosections in California:

  1. Sierra Nevada
    • Characterized by high mountain ranges, including the iconic Sierra Nevada.
    • Alpine and subalpine ecosystems, mixed conifer forests, and meadows.
  2. Southern California Mountains and Valleys
    • Encompasses the Transverse and Peninsular Ranges.
    • Chaparral, coastal sage scrub, and oak woodlands are common vegetation types.
  3. Central California Valley
    • Includes the expansive Central Valley, a major agricultural region.
    • Diverse agricultural landscapes, grasslands, and riparian ecosystems.
  4. Great Basin
    • Spans the northeastern part of California.
    • Sagebrush steppe, pinyon-juniper woodlands, and mountain ranges.
  5. Mojave Desert
    • It is located in the southeastern part of the state.
    • Characterized by desert landscapes with Joshua trees, creosote bush, and other desert plants.

These ecosections provide a framework for understanding the ecological diversity of California, which is crucial for conservation, land management, and environmental planning. It’s important to note that these descriptions are generalizations, and there may be ecosystem variations and overlaps within each ecosection.